American Rhododendron Society Web Site ARS
navigation menu background

Rhododendron of the Year Plant Awards

Twenty-nine rhododendrons selected for their adaptability in eight regions of the United States and Canada have been awarded Rhododendron of the Year (ROY) honors.  To be selected for a ROY award a plant must have excellent foliage and flowers, have an attractive plant habit, be pest and disease resistant and be cold hardy for the region.

For each region, the Plant Award Committee has chosen four plants - an elepidote Large leafed, large-sized plants at maturity, that do not have scales on the underside of the leaves. and a lepidoteSmall leafed, usually low growing plants, often bloom earlier than elepidotes, with small scales on the leaf undersides. rhododendron, a deciduous azalea Small, thin leafed plants in subgenus Pentanthera, that shed their leaves at the end of the growing season. and an evergreen azalea Small, thin leafed plants in subgenus Tsutsusi, that retains its foliage throughout the year.  For the warm weather Hawaii/Southern California region a vireya Tropical plants with bright, colorful flowers in subgenus Vireya. rhododendron has been selected.

Use the links in the box on the right to view the ROY selections for each region. See slide show of selected current year ROY plants.


View ROY plants for U.S. region:
•  Great Lakes
•  Mid-Atlantic
•  North East
•  North West
•  South Central
•  South East
•  South West
•  Southern California/Hawaii

American Rhododendron Society
P.O. Box 43, Craryville, NY 12521
Ph: 631-533-0375   E-Mail:
1998-2024, ARS, All rights reserved.